The Orion's Arm Universe Project Forums

Greetings OAs
Greetings OAs. By way of an intro...... I'm living in the mountains of British Columbia, Canada. Been an Hard SF addict since childhood and even tried writing a bit. I was a geologist - spent 30 years working across Europe, North America and SE Asia.  Gardener, traveler, humanist, lover of maps and other great mysteries as well as good red wine.  Decidedly amateur interest in writing, prehistory, paleoanthropology and deep time.

Oh yeah and I was trying to find out how I might calculate how fast a spacefaring civilization could spread through the galaxy , well the Orion Arm actually, (without any obviously impossible FTL drive) when I stumbled upon you guys! Anyone out there that can point me in the right direction to get an answer to that? 

Cheers
Welcome to the group Smile those are some great interests, especially the wine lol.

How fast a space faring civilisation might colonise the galaxy is a question with no clear answer, it depends on a lot of assumptions such as reasonable interstellar velocities, time between colony ship launches, cultural factors etc. I've seen estimations anywhere between 0.2 to 100 million years! For an in-depth look at the later I'd recommend looking into the 2019 Global Trajectory Optimisation Competition. It's an annual competition affiliated with the European Space Agency where groups around the world are tasked with finding optimum, efficient interplanetary transfer methods. In that year for their 10th anniversary they made it a competition to simulate colonising the galaxy. The rules were that Sol could launch two kinds of spacecraft: a fast runner that can't change course and colonises one system, and a mothership that travels slowly but has delta-V to adjust course and drops off colony pods to nearby systems as it passes. The emphasis on this competition is efficiency, and the ground rules were quite conservative by sci fi standards;