The Orion's Arm Universe Project Forums

greetings, people. greetings and salutations.
Wink 
how is everyone.

i stumbled across this from, i think, a twitter link about six or so weeks ago and then didn't visit again till yesterday. i joined the forum and want to do the perfunctory 'hale and well-met' to everyone around.

about me: i'm a human mammal, approximately 30-60 years of age. weight indeterminate. i'm an ESL teacher by profession. i also write english language textbooks, edit college papers and compose speeches and letters of congratulations for friends and family when any of them pay enough. i've taught in many cities here in the US, and i lived and worked in asia and africa for about five years. i have a bachelor's in history and linguistics from the university of texas at austin, and an english teaching certification. my area of focus in linguistics was indo-european historical linguistics, and my area of preference now is morphosyntax. i consider myself a grammarian and etymologist, but also something of an expert in PIE.

about how i'd like to contribute: i enjoy world-building but i'm mostly an exceptional short story writer. i tend toward writing 'over the shoulder' 3rd person narrative; this means that there's not a huge amount of exposition in my pieces and you only get to see slightly more than what the characters themselves see, and you don't easily get to know their thoughts, the reality around them and the motives for their actions only become clear as the narrative progresses.